Republic Day National Bravery Awards 2012

Republic Day National Bravery Award for Indian children is given each and every year by Indian government  and Indian Council For Child Welfare on 26January. This award is given to children below the age of 16. National Bravery Award  is given to Indian children for legal acts of bravery against all odds.  They will receive the awards from Prime Minister Dr.Manmohan Singh ahead of the Republic Day. There are total five awards:-

  1. Bharat Award, since 1987
  2. Sanjay Chopra Award, since 1978
  3. Geeta Chopra Award, since 1978
  4. Bapu Gayadhani Award, since 1988
  5. National Bravery Award, since 1957


This year twenty four childrens from different parts of the country will receive the National Bravery Awards for 2011 from the Prime Minister, Dr Manmohan Singh at a function in New Delhi on the eve of Republic Day this year. Among the awardees eight are girls and sixteen are boys. Five Awards will be given posthumously.

Winners of National Bravery Award

Winners of National Bravery Award


Winners of National Bravery Award with President Mrs.Pratibha Patil

Winners of National Bravery Award with President Mrs.Pratibha Patil


Awardee’s List (26th Jan. 2012) :-

1.Master Kapil Singh Negi:- Kapil was belong from Uttarakhand. He will get the coveted Bharat Award posthumously. The 15 year old boy sacrificed his life while helping his younger schoolmates to cross an over-flooded stream on a day of  heavy rain and landslide.

2.Master Om Prakash Yadav:- Om Prakash is from Uttar Pradesh.  The Sanjay Chopra Award has been given to Master Om Prakash Yadav. He is 12½ year old and he helped his schoolmates get out of their van which had caught fire, as the adult driver fled to safety well he saved his schoolmates from a burning van.

“I could feel fire burn my body but then I could hear the cries of my friends who were still caught inside the van. I threw my bag and entered to pull them out,” – He said

Master Om Prakash Yadav

Master Om Prakash Yadav


3.Km. Mittal Mahendrabhai Patadiya:- She is 13 year old girl and belong from Gujarat, she had enough courage to fight off robbers who had attacked her foster mother. It took four hours of surgery and 251 stitches to close the wounds Mittal had received. She is be awarded by prestigious Geeta Chopra Award.

4.Late Master Adithya Gopal:- He was belong from Arunachal Pradesh and 14 years old boy. He is awarded by Bapu Gaidhani Award. He lost his life while trying to save his friend from drowning.

5.Master Uma Shankar:- He is 14 years old boy from DelhiUma Shankar was instrumental in rescuing victims of a bus accident and helping them get medical aid.

6.Km. Anjali Singh Gautam:- She is 15 years old girl and belongs from Chhattisgarh. She saved her younger brother in a Naxalite attack. On her birthday, July 7, nearly 200 Naxals attacked Anjali’s village and a dozen of them broke into her house and fired indiscriminately. Anjali’s younger brother was also hit by bullets. Seeing her injured brother, the fourteen year lifted him on her shoulder and ran as bullets were being fired all round till she could reach the safety of a relative’s house.

“My brother is only a couple of years younger to me. He was heavy, but I could only think of running so that he reaches safety,” -Anjali said.

7.Master Yandam Amara Uday Kiran, (Andhra Pradesh)

8.Master Suthrapu Shiva Prasad, (Andhra Pradesh)

9.Master Ranjan Pradhan, (Chhattisgarh)

10.Km. Sheetal Sadvi Saluja, (Chhattisgarh)

11. Km. Divyaben Mansangbhai Chauhan, (Gujarat)

12.Master Sandesh P Hegde, (Karnataka)

13.Km. Sindhushree B.A, (Karnataka)

Km. Sindhushree B.A

Km. Sindhushree B.A


14.Master Mohammed Nishadh V.P, (Kerela)

15.Master Anshif C.K, (Kerela)

16Master Sahsad K, (Kerela)

17.Master Johnson Tourangbam, (Manipur)

Master Johnson Tourangbam and Master Kshetrimayum Rakesh Singh

Master Johnson Tourangbam and Master Kshetrimayum Rakesh Singh

18.Master Kshetrimayum Rakesh Singh, ( Manipur)

19.Late Master C. Lalduhawma, (Mizoram)

20.Km. Prasannta Shandilya, (Orrisa)

21.Master Dungar Singh, (Rajasthan)

22.Master G. Parameswaran, (Tamil Nadu)

23.Late Km. Lovely Verma, (Uttar Pradesh)

24.Late Km. Saudhita Barman, (West Bengal)




Share and Enjoy

  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Delicious
  • LinkedIn
  • StumbleUpon
  • Add to favorites
  • Email
  • RSS

Share this Post


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *