IPL Awards 2010 BCCI Boycotting the Indian Premier League Ceremony IPL Awards Today 23rd April 2010 Sahara India Pariwar Partnership With IPL

Mumbai: The (BCCI) Board of Control for Cricket in India is not officially boycotting the Indian Premier League awards ceremony in Mumbai, sources have told CNN-IBN. But the BCCI has maintained that it is completely upto individual members on whether they want to attend the function or not. The cricket board, at loggerheads with IPL Chairman Lalit Modi, says that the franchisees are free to send their players to the awards function.


The Indian Premier League (IPL) and Sahara India Pariwar announced a long term partnership to organize the exciting IPL awards. The partnership for the awards is initially for a period of 3 years and the awards will be called ‘Sahara IPL Awards’. The inaugural Sahara IPL Awards night will be hosted by none other than Karan Johar, who will be joined by special guest co-host, Shah Rukh Khan at the Grand Hyatt in Mumbai on today, April 23rd, 2010.

The Sahara India Pariwar has a long association with sports, especially with cricket, which started 15 years back and is still continuing. The glittering Sahara IPL Awards ceremony promises to be the perfect to the conclusion of the tournament, with the best from the IPL 2010 to be applauded across 22 categories.

Mr. Lalit Modi, Chairman and Commissioner, IPL said, "It is indeed a pleasure to partner with the Sahara India Pariwar for a new and exciting property like the IPL Awards.

The awards will be given in 22 different categories on Friday night.

The function will be hosted by Bollywood superstar Shah Rukh Khan and filmmaker Karan Johar. The IPL Awards will be filmed by COLORS. IPL Awards Jury: Lalit Modi (Chairperson), Sunil Gavaskar, Brian Lara, Javagal Srinath, Simon Taufel, Harsha Bhogle.The board and Modi have been involved in a bitter face off after reports that the BCCI wanted Modi to step down as IPL Chiraman following allegations of financial irregularities and betting.

Modi is also planning to move the Bombay High Court and ask for an injunction on the IPL Governing Council meet on April 26 where is he likely to be asked to resign.

shah rukh khan preity shilpa shetty lalit modi niranjan shah

He will be challenging the legality of the meeting saying that he alone had the powers to convene it by virtue of being the IPL Chairman. The awards are aimed to provide a forum of encouragement to young sporting talents and motivate them to bring laurels to the nation and sports. Recently, the Sahara Group, under its company Sahara Adventure Sports Limited, has bagged the franchise for Pune IPL team by making the highest bid ever in IPL.

Share and Enjoy

  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Delicious
  • LinkedIn
  • StumbleUpon
  • Add to favorites
  • Email
  • RSS

Share this Post


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *