FIFA World Player Award 2010

Lionel Messi was declared Ballon d’Or award on monday,as he was selected as world’s best player of the year 2010. Lionel Messi Plays for Argentina and Barcelona.

Leaving behind teammates Andres Iniesta and Xavi Hernandez ,Lionel Messi won the trophy for the second time. After getting the trophy Messi  said

“It’s a very special day for me.“I didn’t expect to win it today,Already it’s a source of happiness to be here with my friends and even more to win it’.

Of all the casted votes Messi obtained 22.65 percent of the votes. Andres Iniesta was second with 17.36 percent and Xavi received 16.48 percent of the total votes. The award was renamed this year and named  Ballon d’Or trophy. The Ballon d’or trophy is being presented to the best player in Europe by France Football magazine since 1956.

Jose Mourinho won the men’s coach award for leading Inter Milan, beating World Cup-winning Spain coach Vicente del Bosque and Pep Guardiola of Barcelona. Brazil’s Marta won the best women’s player award for a fifth time, defeating Germany internationals Birgit Prinz and Kosovo-born Lira Bajramaj. Silvia Neid also won the inaugural women’s coaching award 2010. The FIFA presidential award was given to Archbishop Desmond Tutu for making FIFA world cup 2010 a great success in South Africa.

Share and Enjoy

  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Delicious
  • LinkedIn
  • StumbleUpon
  • Add to favorites
  • Email
  • RSS

Share this Post


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *