Chennai Super Kings clinch the IPLT20-Season 3-2010 Title won by 22 runs against all favorites Mumbai Indians-Raina shines for CSK in finals.

Chennai Super Kings won the Indian Premier League Season 3 defeating Mumbai Indians by 22 runs. CSK become IPLT20-2010 winners.


This is second time CSK is playing in the finals, as they have an edge and experience of the finals, which made it possible to them to clinch the trophy.

Great game of cricket ends well in Mumbai with CSK winning, they are not favorites this time as playing against the Top team Mumbai Indians, at there ground where 50,000 crowd and supporters are cheering Sachin Tendulkar and his team, but Dhoni`s CSK couldn’t feel the heat of the game anytime in 40 overs and just executed there plans accordingly in the big finals. Muralidharan said before the match that “We had to scrape and fight hard to get it into the finals, after a slow start initially, have injuries in between and some inconsistent performances. We woke up finalists this morning (SUNDAY). I hope we will wake up as Tournament winners on Monday morning”.


Earlier in the match M S Dhoni after winning the toss elected to bat first, ads this time CSK got a good start as both openers accounted 44 runs for first wicket when, Hayden got out from a bowl of Caribbean Pollard. Then comes Suresh Raina (57 of 35 balls) the Man in form, scored fifty in 24 balls, he also hitted most number of sixes in the match. Earlier he is praising his Captain Mahendra Singh Dhoni for his good form in the tournament as said “MSD`s backing brought out my best”


Suresh Raina capitalized on two dropped catches to score a crucial fifty, and Chennai Super Kings defended with aggression, smartness and flair to win the third IPL. Chennai were struggling at 68 for 3 after 12 overs when Dhoni got into the act: 100 runs were added in the last eight, and Raina scored 44 at a strike-rate of 200 after the first drop. The win concluded a fourth consecutive one-sided knockout in the tournament.

A maiden over was not the best way to start for Mumbai, but losing Shikhar Dhawan in the second was even worse. The next 10 overs featured smart spin bowling, hustling fielders, run-out opportunities created, signs of desperation of Tendulkar, and eventually the wickets of Nayar and Harbhajan in the 12th over. With the required rate going past 12 an over, Tendulkar holed out to long-off, and Raina pulled off a blinder, running in from deep midwicket, to send back Saurabh Tiwary. To everybody’s surprise, JP Duminy walked out, and by the time he walked back, he had left Mumbai 55 to get in three overs.

Pollard made a match out of this too: taking 22 runs off Bollinger’s 18th over. Morkel bowled a tight 19th over, with a long-off, and a mid-off up in the circle and so straight it was almost behind him. Pollard hit a catch to him: it just highlighted which captain had got it right on the night.

Match details:-

Toss Chennai Super Kings, who chose to bat
Series Chennai Super Kings won the 2009/10 Indian Premier League
Player of the match SK Raina (Chennai Super Kings)
Player of the series SR Tendulkar (Mumbai Indians)
Umpires RE Koertzen (South Africa) and SJA Taufel (Australia)
TV umpire S Ravi
Match referee S Venkataraghavan
Reserve umpire SN Bandekar


Share and Enjoy

  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Delicious
  • LinkedIn
  • StumbleUpon
  • Add to favorites
  • Email
  • RSS

Share this Post


About Saurabh Pal

I have keen interest in Sports, Cricket & News and with my experience in creative content writing , I try to research more & provide you with concise, useful & enjoyable News

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *