Master blaster Sachin Tendulkar added another golden feature in his hat. Tendulkar was honoured with the membership of the Order of Australia (AM) for his service to India-Australia relations by promoting goodwill, friendship and sportsmanship through the sport.

Simon Crean Australian Minister for Regional Australia, Regional Development and Local Government, presents the membership of The Order of Australia to Indian cricketer Tendulkar in Mumbai on November 6, 2012Australian Prime Minister Julia Gillard had announced the honorary AM for Tendulkar when she visited India last month.

After former Attorney General Soli Sorabjee, Tendulkar became only the second Indian to get the honour. He was honoured with a medal and a cricket stump. Sorabjee was made an Honorary Member of the Order of Australia (AM) “for service to Australia-India bilateral legal relations” on March 2006.

The right-handed Tendulkar is the fourth non-Australian cricketer to be made an Order of Australia AM, the other three being West Indian legends – Clive Lloyd on 22 January 1985, Sir Garfield Sobers in the year 2003 & Brian Lara on 27 November 2009.

Born on April 24, 1973, Tendulkar is considered as one of the greatest batsman the game has ever produced with more than 30,000 international runs under his belt. He has scored 15,533 runs in 190 Tests besides a mammoth 18,426 runs in 463 ODIs.

About Order of Australia

The Order of Australia is an order of chivalry established on 14 February 1975 by Elizabeth II, Queen of Australia, to recognize Australian citizens and other persons for achievement or for meritorious service. Before the establishment of the order, Australian citizens received British honours.

The order is divided into general and military divisions, with the following grades in descending order of seniority:

  • Knight or Dame of the Order of Australia (AK or AD – Civil division only – Closed to new appointments in 1986);
  • Companion of the Order of Australia (AC);
  • Officer of the Order of Australia (AO);
  • Member of the Order of Australia (AM); and
  • Medal of the Order of Australia (OAM)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.